Mercury poisening?

One day after we visited the allergologist at the children hospital we went to a health and life coach. It was a recommendation through friends of friends and after some thought be decided to shell out the 180 Euros it would cost and give it a try, although I didn’t like their website, or anything else I could find out about the coach. Anyhow, we went.

The coach was a nice pleasant person taking his time to ask all the relevant question about when and how the eczema started etc. His conclusion of the examination was that J. has a mercury poisoning. He suggested that the mercury in the amalgam fillings in my teeth could have been transmitted to J. during pregnancy and this together with an early vaccination (which could have contained mercury as preservative) could have pushed the immune system enough to trigger J.’s eczema. Two observation might support his claims: (1) when J. was born he did not have any lactobacillus in his intestines and he had liquid green pooh (sorry for the graphical detail); (2) A homeopathic doctor we saw palpated his abdomen (one of the few doctors who ever did this) and diagnosed an enlarged liver. As I understand, both points could be an indication of a poisoning.  Apparently, children under the age of three are not able to rid themselves off contamination and accumulate heavy metals etc. in their cells. Therefore the coach recommended to help J. and do a de-poisoning with sweet-water algae (spirulina).  These were his nutritional recommendations:

  • Use spirulina daily to extract mercury and other heavy metals from the cells and eliminate them from the body.
  • Absolutely no cow’s milk products. Cow’s milk protein is the most difficult protein to break down. Sheep and goat milk is ok. Our body is much better adapted to drink goat and sheep milk because humans have done this for many thousand more years than drinking cow’s milk (especially the modern highly developed cow’s milk).
  • No cilantro and ramsons. They both extract heavy metals from the cells but they don’t help to eliminate them from the body as spirulina does. This means the poison gets released from the cells but does not leave the organism. So it seems it is better to leave the job to spirulina. At least for now.
  • No asparagus. Apparently asparagus collects the heavy metals from the ground and it would add additional poisoning.
  • No sea-food. Not even sea salt. Fish from rivers yes, but nothing which comes out of the sea or ocean. As I understand this is also because of the contamination of the ocean waters.

Now comes the part I am not so happy about. He made the diagnosis using applied kinesiology. I don’t want to question applied kinesiology per se, but this example was less than convincing. According to his explanation, the main idea is that a muscle feels if something is not right and then looses its strength. So, the examiner asks the patient to withstand some pressure with e.g. his arm, but the patient will fail if there is a disturbance in the body.

Practically it looked like this: I had to lay down on an examination table and touch J., because I was the mediator for J. and touching him would allow his signals to be transmitted to my body so my body’s reactions would indicate a disturbance in J. (I do not at all understand how this can work, but anyhow….). The next step was that I had to press against the pressure the coach applied onto my right arm. When he would touch my or J.’s head or disturb the energy field by moving the hand along the body against the natural energy flow, then my arm was not able to withstand the pressure and just collapse. Now the coach gave boxes to J. filled with little glass vials containing many different substances (foods, plants, animal hairs, etc). If the box would contain a substance than would cause a problem to J. then my arm would collapse at the pressure.  I could not withstand mercury. Then the coach found the substance that negated the bad effect of mercury, which was spirulina. When J. held the vial containing mercury together with the vial containing spirulina then my arm could withstand again the pressure.

Here is my critic. I don’t believe the coach’s applied kinesiology. I believe he had the diagnosis ready after talking to us and in my opinion he used the test as a fancy way to “prove” to us his diagnosis. First, I think he pushed my arm differently when my arm could not withstand the pressure. Second, the test was not double-blind, he knew which vial J. was holding. Unfortunately, we were too polite to ask some more critical questions. I am not saying that applied kinesiology never works, but in this case I think it was a cheap way to sell us a hypothesis. I am getting a bit upset if people have a possible good intuition and then package it into a pseudo-scientific framework for a better sell. His diagnosis about the mercury (or any other) poisoning is absolutely plausible. And the recommendation to avoid cow’s milk  alone will cure eczema with a high probability in many children. But why did he have to add all this voodoo?

This entry was posted in alternative medicine, diet, supplements, therapy, vaccination. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mercury poisening?

  1. Spanish Key says:

    I hadn’t read this post before. Very interesting. It sounds like utter quackery–a magic trick–and I’d like to see it debunked. But I’m not willing to pay 180 euros to do so! Thanks for the analysis; good point about the double-blind.

Leave a Reply

